The Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race has enjoyed a good recognition since its inauguration in 2015.

Following the success of the event last year, the organizers have started arranging for the 2017 edition of the race.

They confirmed that 13 World Tour teams would feature in next year’s edition of the event. They also revealed that an Australia Day criterium in Albert will be added to the event to expand the race.

Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race is one of the most recent World Tour events, and has invited 18 World Tour teams to the event in 2017. However, appearance is not compulsory.

There will be at least 10 World Tour teams participating at the World Tour races including; AG2R La Mondiale, BMC Racing, Cannondale-Drapac, Trek-Segafredo, Team Sunweb, Team Dimension Data, Quick-Step Floors, Bora Hansgrohe, Katusha-Alpecin, Lotto Soudal, and LottoNL Jumbo. The defending champions, Team Sky have also confirmed making an appearance at the 2017 race.

Since inception in 2015, the race has had two winners. Gianni Meersman (Etixx-QuickStep) won the first edition, while Peter Kennaugh claimed the title in 2016 for Team Sky.

The organizers of the race have explained that the new criterion would be opened by a women’s race of 63.6km to be completed in 12 laps of the 5.3km circuit. Followed by the men’s race at 12:30pm covering a longer distance of 22 laps and 116.6km. The newly introduced criterium race will hold on Melbourne’s F1 GP circuit in Albert.

“Victoria is the cycling capital of Australia. We’re not just the leader for the biggest and best events, we have the circuits and tracks other states can only dream of,” Parliamentary Secretary Danielle Green said. “Race Melbourne gives Melburnians a chance to experience for themselves the best of everything this great major event offers.”

The 2017 edition of the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race takes place on January 29, with Australia day criterium at Albert Park for men and women.